Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras|NETGEAR
Top Contributors

Enable Custom Modes from IFTTT

It looks like there are a number of threads around the Arlo community forum about triggering custom modes from IFTTT, but this feature request didn't seem to be captured in the idea exchange, so wanted to capture this feature request here.

98 Comments
Novice

This has been raised elsewhere as part of multi-idea posts but wanted to list it seperately to give it more visibility.

I would like to see the modes for a basestation exposed to IFTTT so that better control can be acheived.  At present you can only arm and disarm.  I would like to be able to revert back to "scheduled" based on an event from IFTTT.

Initiate
I agree great feature to add
Follower

TomJohn,

You seem to have some expertise in using Arlo and IFTTT, and I am hoping you can help me troubleshoot my logic.  I am new to Arlo, but not new to programming.  I have a problem I've been trying to solve using IFTTT.  Arlo does not allow you to run 2 different modes automatically (geo and schedule in my case).  I want to have Arlo turn itself on when all of us leave the house, and also to arm itself on a schedule at night (only arming 2 of the 4 cameras).  For the "away from home" I have to use Geo on Arlo (because there are multiple people coming in and out of the house, so it needs to only arm when ALL are out of the house).  But then I also want Arlo to arm the outside cameras only (I have 2 outside and 2 inside) at 11:30pm and disarm at 5 am when we are home.  I do this through IFTTT.   Two problems:  IFTTT does not allow me to choose which cameras to turn on and which ones to leave off.  And secondly, Arlo does not revert back to Geo once IFTTT disarms it at 5 am.  Any advise/pointers/links will be ppreciated!

Guide