Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras|NETGEAR
Top Contributors

Arlo Doorbell - Ability To Disable The Call Feature If Using A Chime

It would be useful to be able to disable the doorbell calling if using an existing chime or the Arlo Chime and/or have the ability to decide if you want the calling to be used in different modes, like how you can customize notifications and actions for the cameras based on mode. If I’m home I don’t necessarily need my doorbell to call me each time as I can hear my chime in the house.

3 Comments
Arlo Moderator

The Arlo development team routinely reviews posts in the Arlo Idea Exchange to assess which features the community would like to see implemented. We greatly appreciate the community’s contribution and will keep the status of this idea updated as we get new information on its potential implementation. Thank you for posting your idea!

Yes, it would also be helpful if we can have schedule or proximity based option for the call setting.  When I am home, I would like only the chime o ring and not the phone.  When I am not home I would like the phone to ring, at the same time there might be some period of time when I can disable the calling ( like while in meeting/ church or something)

Initiate

Normally a toggle button would say "silent mode" to which the toggle is either 'on' or 'off'. But in this case (see pic below) it makes no sense. 

Toggle ON :  I get a chime, but I don't get a phonecall.

Toggle OFF: I get a chime, and I get a phonecall.

Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 15.22.11.png   Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 15.19.47.png

 

So is the toggle for silent mode? in which case why do I get both a call and a chime if it's 'on'. 

In both cases I get a chime?

 

I don't know what the difficulty is.. we need a bell that just makes the chime sounds. No calling, no 'leave a message'.

 

The delay is also annoying. I think there should be 'immediate' feedback in the bell using its own mic or a build in mechanical bell to the chime. The user needs immediate feedback or they press it multiple times and leave a message by mistake.