Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
Diana6515
Guide
Guide

I have a free subscription, but already have 5 cameras (which I understand is the max for the free service). If I got the video doorbell would that count?

38 REPLIES 38
TXArloUser
Tutor
Tutor

There is a difference between a new Arlo customer and someone who already owns an Alro system. The new people will be more likely to read a lot of reviews to help them come to a decision. A current owner, like myself, made the decision to go with Arlo months ago. And being fairly happy with that decision decided to expand that system with the video doorbell that was NOT AVAILABLE at the time of the original purchase. It is reasonable to assume that adding another camera to the system would be the same experience as adding the previous cameras. Therefore, there needs to be a clear statement that the doorbell falls under different rules and requires a mandatory subscription to store video clips.

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@TXArloUser wrote:

Therefore, there needs to be a clear statement that the doorbell falls under different rules and requires a mandatory subscription to store video clips.

Where would you expect to see that? 

FWIW, the need for a paid subscription for cloud recording is printed on two sides of the box - one of those messages also notes that the needed subscription isn't available in all countries.  That text likely should be larger - but it is there.

Mavrrick
Luminary
Luminary

This is just a lesson in that we should never assume and always do proper research when we get it. I have had the Video Doorbell from early January. From day one I knew a subscription was needed. Ofcourse I knew about the changes with the plans related to the Pro 3 and Ultra so i looked it up. Assumptions often get us in trouble

Rosa99
Aspirant
Aspirant