Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Smart Notifications - I Am Receiving Motion Alerts When "People" Only Is On

Discussion stats
nedkelly78
Tutor
Tutor

8 pro2 camera's,  i am subscribed to the smart detection/notification and only have 'people' on alert, but on some of PRO2 cameras i still get alerts for motion. looking at the camera info, the HW version this is happening on is H4, while the H5 are OK. They are all PRO2 though. I only want people. tried resetting the base and re-syncing the cameras but no luck very frustrating.

any ideas?

109 REPLIES 109
Brennanw28
Initiate
Initiate

I have recently noticed that I am receiving motion alerts on my device when I am not supposed to. I have an Arlo premier subscription and the settings for smart notifications set up so that I should only be notified when a person or animal walk accross the camera. Last night I disarmed the system, then rearmed it a few minutes later and ever since then I have been getting all alerts except vehicle. The cameras are positioned with trees in sight and  today has been windy, it's non stop notification after notification. Please help!!! Arlo customer support was not much help at all. After an extended hold time a rep answered and then puts me on hold for every question I asked. All to tell me it's a known issue a engineer needs to solve. 

szinski
Apprentice
Apprentice

Same problem here. I have a mix of Arlo Pro, Arlo Pro 2, and Arlo Q, all with Arlo Smart enabled. I have "All other motion" alerts disabled yet I continue to receive generic "Arlo detected motion" alerts for my cameras.

ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

What firmware is your base station & cameras running?

brettwgreen
Aspirant
Aspirant

Same problem here. I suspect the addition of BETA version of package detecion has messed something up.

I am running app on Android Samsung Galaxy S7.

szinski
Apprentice