Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 8 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 5 In Conversation
ChrisFNP
Tutor
Tutor

Why the latest Android app is lying about giving it the phone permission to change the modes or sent the push notifications. I'm a developer and this is a lie. Can somebody explain it to me before I go to press. Push notification permission is granted to every app by default. Phone notification on the other hand is categorised as dangerous permission allowing the app to get your call history and to make calls on your behalf without notifying you about it. Can somebody contact me about it, cause right now it looks like a rouge operation within Netgear. See the screenshot with the popup notification which is trying to convince you by lying to give it phone permission. Without granting the permission notifications not working with the latest version of the app and I cannot change modes.

8 REPLIES 8
ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

What permission are you trying to deny? The Arlo Mobile App needs this permission allowed to send you push notifications.

ChrisFNP
Tutor
Tutor

I'm not giving "Phone" permission to the app as it doesn't need it. None of the Android application require to ask a user in order to have Push Notification permission granted. The app is lying about the requirement of "Phone" persmission to be able to send push notifications. 

In that business where we store sensitive footage on Arlo servers it's all about trust. How can I trust the company who lies about notifications in their app in order to get more permissions then required.

Please explain. How Arlo Mobile App needs access to my Call History to send me notifications. Please note "Phone" permission is categorised as Dangerous in Android SDK. On the other hand "Push Notifications" are granted for any app who requested it without asking the user.