Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 5 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 4 In Conversation
cariocatjb95
Aspirant
Aspirant

I am new to Arlo and the Arlo pro, and would like some advices on where is the best place to install the camera. Right now I have it installed on top (more to the right) of front door, and today I had a package delivered and the camera did not detect any motion. So my question is, would it be better to mount the camera against the side wall? See pictures below.

Also, what sensitivity % is recommended?

Thanks in advance.

#1.JPG  #2.PNG

5 REPLIES 5
Hula_Rock
Prodigy Prodigy
Prodigy

I dont see any pictures..... yet.  From what  I am reading the Arlo Pro does a fantastic job detecting motion, coupled with noise detection.  As far as sensitivity goes, its user discretion, meaning you adjust it to your needs.  The higher the number, the more sessitive its' going to be.   I would start at 50% and work your way upwards until you are satisfied with the captured recordings.

cariocatjb95
Aspirant
Aspirant
Not sure why you cant see the pictures, but anyhow Thank you so much for the response.

I had sensitivity set to 80% and it still didn't capture the motion, maybe because the UPS person was fast enough where the camera didn't have time to be activated by the motion, if this even make any sense.
Hula_Rock
Prodigy Prodigy
Prodigy

I see the pictures now.....

This is kind of a tough one since the area you are trying to cover is very short and narrow.  Suggestions:

Crank up the sensitivity to 100%  and test it out.  Mimic a UPS delivery and see if the camera catches you.  Remember those guys walk at a fast pace, place your box down and they are out of the frame failry quickly.

Install the camera at that secondary loction on your picture, adjust it so that the door is at the very right of the screen, then test again.