Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
TheMegaMan
Star
Star
So has the format of the motion notification emails changed to remove the preview image, intentionally?

If so, it's a really bad move. I get a lot of false notifications, and the preview image was an excellent way to help identify if I needed to look in more detail.

Without it, I've got to open and download each video clip in turn, taking a long time and increasing the load on your servers.

Can I suggest this change is reversed or maybe a user option?

Regards,
Adam
185 REPLIES 185
rye_whiskey
Apprentice
Apprentice

The ripoff part I'm not surprised at.  I work in the automotive industry.   I was just surprised at how blatant it was.   Does the Anker system offer notifications or a web interface or is it mobile only?   The facial recognition part was pretty cool I'll say.

neteng47
Tutor
Tutor

As expected the response from Arlo disregards customer feedback. 

I'm not sure how removing the snapshot is an acceptable action "to alleviate this frustration (and confusion of snapshots expiring after 24 hours)."

johnhuanvu
Apprentice
Apprentice

@JessicaP :

My business is losing money since the new email notifications lack a preview functionality. How does removing snapshots from the email alerts help us the customer? This causes my employees to check online for every single notification. This is unacceptable.

When will Arlo get this fixed and show previews on the email again?

Otherwise, we'll switch over to Nest.

GR2011
Apprentice
Apprentice
I'm looking at removing Arlo now and letting everyone on Amazon of the loss in capability. At least my Nest doorbell camera doesn't have the same stupid policy when it comes to picture in email notifications. Arlo's reason for removing the feature makes no sense especially when they don't even give the option.
meizydavid
Apprentice
Apprentice