Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
Guide
Guide

Hi,

I've purchased an Arlo 4 camera set.  I've seen battery life reviews that are all over the map, from 1 week to 4 months.

Can I get a feel for what other's experiences are with battery life?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
BrianL
Master
Master

Hi 2112,

The steps on how to modify the motion detection feature by schedule can be found here https://community.netgear.com/t5/Arlo-Knowledge-Base/What-are-Modes-amp-how-do-I-use-them/ta-p/32

Kind regards,

BrianL

Arlo Team

View solution in original post

82 REPLIES 82
CaptainDork
Apprentice
Apprentice

Howdy, and welcome! I'm a noobie here, but I can share an extreme case of battery use. Smiley Happy

I bought the 4-camera set and put 3 up for watchdog duty. I'm a photographer, so I labeled one camera, "Floater," meaning it would be put to creative uses.

I have an area where I've been feeding birds and squirrels for about 35 years. I put the cam on a monopole camera mount I got from Walmart for $15US. The Arlo cams accommodate the standard camera mounts.

I got very close to the bird feeding site and jammed the monopole into the dirt so I could get some closeups of the dove, cardinals, pigeons, sparrows, and blue jays.

The videos were fantastic and well received.

--

I let the cam run overnight and the dadburn thing recorded just about continuously! Rats and a racoon. See the "Caugt on cam" section of the Community forum.

Well, I was fascinated, so I recorded out the wazoo and connected lots of times for live streaming and stuff. I was brutal to the point of abuse, regarding the batteries.

They lasted 3 weeks.

The other three cams are cooking along with full bars. I don't know how long they will last.

Hopefully, others will chip in and give us a more realistic life expectancy.