Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 23 Replies
  • 7 Likes
  • 10 In Conversation
888Steve
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hi,

Im quite new to Arlo. I was sold an older setup with a house purchase recently.

It’s the older cameras (5 cameras) plus a non video doorbell and chime and netgear vmb3000 base. It seems it doesn’t work too well with my WiFi/router setup.

I have a Huawei B535 router which is a 4G mobile broadband router and is on the UK Three mobile network.

I have the Netgear VMB3000 base station wired in to one of the routers Ethernet ports.

everything works fine apart from every few minutes (difficult to say but between every 2-10 mins) the base station drops offline and the second and third led’s go amber/flash amber. It reconnects itself and half a minute later it’s all good again.

I have the Arlo app on my iPhone 11 and regularly when I open it I’m unable to arm/disarm the system as it’s offline temporarily and some cameras show not connected to the internet. So if I’m heading outside and want to save camera battery life I can’t disarm the system and the cameras don’t record whilst the base is offline.

When it’s not offline it generally works ok but some days the postman can deliver the post without even triggering the Arlo as it must be during one of its offline moments so it’s not really a suitable security system as it is.

I’ve searched the forum but can’t find a solution. I’ve tried going in my router settings and trying a static IP address but have no idea what to use in all the fields (subnet mask, default gateway, DNS serves etc) or if that would even help.

ive also tried wiring the base in to a WiFi repeater’s Ethernet port which made no difference and it behaved just the same.