Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Arlo Pro 2 notifies but no longer records. Tried "everything". Expensive solution.

Discussion stats
  • 20 Replies
  • 2 Likes
  • 5 In Conversation
mhnatt
Luminary
Luminary

I have been battling this for a couple months and don’t consider myself a newbie.

What setup:
Arlo Pro 2 with 10 cameras, with the same setup in three different states.

What’s wrong:
At just one of my three locations, I get notifications of movement via the iOS app but no videos are recorded into the library nor emails are sent, despite the settings stating otherwise and was working fine prior to mid December. I have seen on rare occasion (say 5% of the time) that a video on a few cameras will indeed record but this is random on both time and camera).

How long this has occurred:
Since mid-December.

Why I know it is a problem:
  1. I have the same Arlo Pro 2 setups installed in three different states. The other two locations are fine and all are running the exact same firmware on both the base station and cameras. Base (VMB4000r3) firmware: 1.9.4.0_15548 and camera (H3) firmware: 1.124.1.0_15483
  2. I have not made any changes in settings from when it was working.
  3. The firmware is up to date on both the base and cameras (since Netgear questionably pushes updates without our consent, checking firmware updates is really useless and actually may be the cause of the problem).
  4. The temperature at the problematic location is warmer than the other two locations which work fine.
  5. The Internet couldn’t be an issue as I can manually record and live stream fine.
  6. Given that the problem exists across all 10 cameras of this location, it cannot be related to a camera.
  7. I have seen others in the community state the same symptoms with no resolve.

What I have already tried: