Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 5 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 4 In Conversation
SpiralD
Aspirant
Aspirant

I noticed that after I connected my Arlo Ultra to a permanent power source (AC adapter), captured videos would contain sound even though my device settings indicated that sound was off.

Upon turning on and off the microphone in the app, sound capture stopped until the system went into low light mode. The first videos recorded in night mode had sound captured, until I toggled the microphone setting in the app again which stopped capture for videos after that.

In the morning, the first videos after low light mode turned off had sound. I once again toggled the microphone setting to turn sound capture off.

The unit only started behaving this way once I connected it to a full time power source.

I'm a software engineer, and IMHO this pattern appears to be some sort of logic bug triggered by the change to and from low-light mode- like the requested "microphone off" setting is forgotten internally until it is reapplied.

This is a major annoyance, but to make matters worse, if this bug causes the private conversations of individuals to be recorded without their consent, it would break the law in California and other 2 party consent states.

Can we get a fix for this ASAP?

Arlo Ultra: H7 firmware 1.070.50.2_205_0c7c8e1

5 REPLIES 5
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

You should be deactivating audio detection in your modes and rules, not in the camera settings.

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@jguerdat wrote:

You should be deactivating audio detection in your modes and rules, not in the camera settings.

It should work either way, and probably he wants to do both, in order to prevent audio capture when live streaming.