Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

No longer recording locally as of last night.

JeffRand
Star
Star

I have a VMB5000r5 Ultra SmartHub running firmware 1.20 4.0_1367_36740e8. I also have two Arlo Ultra 2 (H10 4k) cameras and one Arlo Video Doorbell (1.2 wired). These have been working great for two years.

As of this morning, the VMB5000 base station is no longer recording any videos locally to the SD card. I reformatted the SD card through the app. It reports that storage is available and doesn't show any issues, yet when motion is detected on any of the cameras no recordings take place. I also cold booted the base and also restarted it several times. I can't figure out what has changed. The system status on Arlo's website says everything is good. I tried contacting support, but the chat bot says I can't connect to a live agent unless I have a subscription, which I do not (and have not for over a year). I just need the base to record videos locally and have no need for cloud storage.

Is anyone else having this issue? Any ideas as to what is wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JamesC
Community Manager
Community Manager

The firmware fix for this issue is now available. Please restart your Base Station/SmartHub to receive the update. It may take a few minutes after the restart for your system to complete the firmware installation.

Alternatively, you will automatically receive the firmware update overnight.

Thank you for your patience while we worked to resolve this issue.

Firmware version with the fix (reference your base station/SmartHub model VMBXXXX)

VMB5000-1.20.4.1_1373_d606780
VMB4540-1.20.4.1_1311_d606780
VMB4500-1.20.4.1_4079_d606780
VMB4000-1.20.4.1_4214_d606780

JamesC

View solution in original post

Best answers
  • JamesC
    Community Manager
    Community Manager