Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Base station file tagging

Discussion stats
  • 3 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
pwaggs
Apprentice
Apprentice

I just realized this weekend when I was looking for some old clips that none of the base station clips have any sort of tagging associated with them and are all simply stored as 'motion' clips. So if I know that I am looking for an animal or person clip, I cannot filter by animal or person. Aghhh...

It just seems like a little shortcoming, another one, to the robustness of the system.

I'll put this up there with "Why on earth are my Arlo doorbell clips not stored on the base station?"

3 REPLIES 3
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

Do you have a subscription? Smart won't work without one. Also, check your settings in Settings, Smart Notifications.

pwaggs
Apprentice
Apprentice

I have a subscription. I can see and sort the cloud clips by tags, but I cannot sort the locally stored clips by their associated tags. This would be helpful as obviously the cloud storage is limited and it auto deletes older files (not very old actually). Whereas you keep local files until you run out of storage. I have been running my system for six months now and really just crossed 90GB on my local system which has a 256GB capacity. However, searching those files is a mess, because, Arlo provides nothing in the way of searchable data and of course there is no thumbnail.