Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 10 Replies
  • 12 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
OleS
Guide
Guide

I have 2 VM4540 Pro 3 SmartHubs, 4 Arlo Pro 3 cameras and 1 Arlo Pro 3 Floodlight Camera. 

I have been paying a monthly subscription for a while now. First and foremost to get access to Smart Notifications so I would be able to get alerts ONLY when People are detected. It has never worked as I thought it would. 

I have disabled everything except People Detection in the settings. But the system still triggers on snow, rain, birds, insects, bushes and ghosts, and more. 

My biggest issiue is that I have a subscription on a SMS-provider and it is starting to get very expensive having all these "false positives" triggering all the time. No devices in our house are connected to the Internet 24/7, and the same goes for our mobile phones - so push notifications have no value for us. 

The size of the notifications are also a problem since every notification that is sent to my SMS-provider is counted as 3-4 text-messages. And I have to pay for each message. All I need is "Alert: Person detected on Camera 1", or something like that. Something simple. But I can't find any way to modify the alerts... 

I have tried everything I have found in the Arlo Community. I have put up a ladder and climbed the walls to reconnect and reset the camera's, restarted the base units, nothing works. Several people have written that the analysis of triggered alerts are done on Arlo's servers, so I guess it was a waist of time and energy anyway. 

Does anyone know what's going on? Are Smart Notifications only for push notifications and not email-notifications? 

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Hi @OleS