Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 26 Replies
  • 3 Likes
  • 13 In Conversation
hughdn
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hello,

I've been an Arlo Pro user for the past year and a half, mainly on my Google Pixel phone. Recently had low lifes attempting to get into my vehicles in the driveway, and around this same time I discovered Arlo Smart, however it wasn't available in Canada. However, just a few days later I get an update to the app and Smart now seems to be available! I subscribed immediately for the 1-month trial, but haven't had much luck. Seen several updates changing the UI around smart, and the functionality doesn't seem to be really working.

1. Smart detection/notification does not work. I have it turned off for everything but "Person Detection" but am getting notified of everything (including the black cat that prowls my driveway around 3am every morning...)
  2. Smart notifications don't work. I'm still just getting "motion detected" instead of a more detailed notification.
  3. Activity zones don't work. I can create the zone in the device settings, but I can't seem to define whether it is a zone to ignore, or a zone to pay attention to, and further to that point, I have no ability to select zones in the modes screen (as I've seen answered in elsewhere in the forms). The only options I still see when creating a mode, is which device, detects motion/audio, sensitivity, and then which actions to take. No options to select an activity zone.

I've rebooted my hub, I've uninstalled the app and reinstalled, and I've used the browser based app from a computer.

Help? Is it just this is new functionality in Canada still and they can't get their act together to work out the bugs? Or am I missing something?

26 REPLIES 26
Chandler21
Aspirant
Aspirant

I'm having the same problems here in the UK. I can't get the smart notifications to work at all.