Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 11 Replies
  • 22 Likes
  • 9 In Conversation
SanderJ
Star
Star

The Arlo Base Stations clones the WiFi channel. Using the same WiFi channel is the biggest nonsense I ever heard. As a wireless network engineer I just can't imagine that a company who is supposed to know WiFi comes up with this bull**bleep**. Even worse, Netgear is not working on a solution/update. Insane. I would like to see a technical reply on this topic and the reason why this isn't fixed over the years. This can be a total showstopper for buying the Arlo system.

Arlo_channel.PNG

11 REPLIES 11
pc2k17
Hero
Hero

I'm a desktop engineer, but certainly not a wifi expert by any means. Can you explain in more detail why this is a bad thing? You can get technical, I'll understand. This is just for my own knowledge really. I understand interferance can happen, but in the real world is it a common thing? I haven't experienced any interference with any of my multiple wifi devices and other electronic devices in the house, at least not that I know of.

jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

FWIW, I've had a base, both original and now Pro, in almost physical contact with various high-power routers since the get-go, about 3 years, with no problems.

SanderJ
Star
Star

Hi,