Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Smartthings & ok google to arm/disarm

Discussion stats
  • 17 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 3 In Conversation
Scott2ya
Luminary
Luminary

Since getting my arlo cameras, it's kinda got me into a little bit of an automation addiction. So I got me a few sensors and a SmartThings Hub on the way. I've been frustrated waiting (over a month) to see if the IFTTT would start working with arlo to arm and disarm and still no joy. I am also dissapointed that when it did work, or when it does start working again, you cannot set custom modes. That got me thinking, maybe I could use SmartThings to do the same thing. Does anyone know?

I'd love to be able to say, OK Google, set Arlo "insert custom mode"

17 REPLIES 17
brh
Master
Master

I have been using Smartthings and Arlo cameras for about two years and just love the integration. With Smartthings I can let just about let any sensor fire a camera or several cameras at the same time such as motion sensors, open/closed switches, smoke alarms, water leak sensors and lights. Like everything else there is nothing that is perfect. I do get a glitch every now and then but it sure beats being without the ability to do so. Also you can do so many things with Smartthings you might get overwhelmed when setting it up. 

The main thing with the Smartthings integration is that you basically want Smartthings to be the on/off switch for the Arlo cameras. You use Routines to set the cameras to standby mode to be ready to record video. You turn off the cameras or disarm them through another Routine.

Like Arlo's app you set up rules to actually start the video recording from the devices you hsve selected for that rule.