Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 2 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
Kwenda
Apprentice
Apprentice

Like many I was using Android 6.0.1 Marshmallow on my phone and the Geofencing worked brilliantly.

Now I upgraded to Android 8 Oreo, and the Geofencing now no longer works.

A quick web search shows that Android 8 has ‘upgraded’ location services to reduce battery consumption. Thus the location service only is active once per hour.

I am not a software engineer, but it appears that Netgear could alter their app to provide what is called a ‘Foreground Service’ to solve this problem.

The questions then become:-

Is there any indications that Netgear Arlo software dept are going to solve this problem of Geofencing.?

Will Android 9 Pie solve the issue anyway.?  From what I read there are less options in location service with Android Pie.

I can sit in the car outside the house, bring out the phone, set Arlo to disarm each time, but is there a better simpler way?   I am thinking here of a FOB like a garage door opener that I can quickly press to arm or disarm the Arlo system.  Perhaps working with IFTTT..?

Any pointers or assistance is appreciated.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
pc2k17
Hero
Hero

I have a Samsung S8 with android Oreo and I gave up on geofencing long ago with Arlo and with SmartThings.