Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 6 Replies
  • 4 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
drphilosopher
Tutor
Tutor

Hi,

I'm new to Arlo. I'm taking over a system that my son originally setup, so some of the freebies may have expired. I also don't have a subscription so subscription dependent features might not work. However, I don't think my problem is related to any of those factors.

I have a VMB4540 Arlo Pro Smart Hub, 3 Arlo Pro 4 Cameras, and a doorbell. I can provide more details if required. 

I initially downloaded and installed the Arlo Secure App on my phone, version 4.3.5_28531, and started adding cameras to my system. Then, when I realized that video was not being stored on the smart hub, I went back, factory reset the hub, added it to the system and re-added all the cameras and doorbell to the system so they would store video clips on the usb stick plugged into the hub.

Initially, when the cameras were connected directly to the WIFI router, whenever events were detected, I would receive an audible notification on my phone and a video would show up in the feed. However, after adding the smart hub, although I still receive a notification in the form of an audible ping, the videos no longer show up on my phone. The videos are still being stored on the hub, so the system is sort of working, but I can't see what is going on remotely which sort of defeats the purpose of a security system.

I should mention that the tabs at the bottom of my Arlo Secure app are: Dashboard, Feed, Emergency, Devices, and Routines. My understanding is that some earlier versions of the app have a Library tab at the bottom of the display, but my app doesn't have that so articles that mention the Library tab aren't helping me.