Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Arlo Pro 3 local storage backup

Discussion stats
  • 20 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
Smarko1
Aspirant
Aspirant

I was an Arlo Pro customer for years and was pleased with the devices that included seven days of video backup.  In December 2019 I upgraded to Arlo Pro 3 cameras.  It was not clear then that the 7 days of video backup was not included with these more expensive cameras.

After installing the Pro 3 cameras everything worked.  Then, after the three-month trial for the video backup expired, things went downhill.  First, I stopped receiving motion detection notifications to my phone even though the motion detectors were working.  After a lengthy unsatisfactory chat with Arlo support, I requested higher level support.  It was determined there were conflicts and I had to create a new mode called “Armed 2”.  This corrected the problem of not receiving notifications.  I then discussed the problem that I had no backup video library.  The technician informed me this could be resolved by installing the appropriate flash memory into the Smart Hub.  The technician emailed me instructions.

I attempted to get the backup operating, but without success.  Then, after another two hours on the telephone with tech support the problem still could not be resolved.  Tech support promised a response within 24 hours.  No response has been received.  I followed up twice in writing with Arlo, no response.

I am a very dissatisfied customer and cannot recommend these products going forward.

Steve (smarko1@rcn.com)

20 REPLIES 20
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@Smarko1 wrote:

I attempted to get the backup operating, but without success.  

Can you give us some more information on where you got stuck with this?