Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras

Discussion stats
  • 15 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
Beak62
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hello. I am a newb to this. I purchased the Home Security system with the keypad and 5 all in one sensors.

The first problem was the app doesn't mention it and the first thing the app requested is an ethernet link to the panel but there is no port for ethernet. So I don't know if I need a hub as well, but I am stuck as the app will not connect.

Any help greatly appreciated.

15 REPLIES 15
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

The security hub does not use Ethernet - it uses WiFi. This sounds like you chose to install a base station or SmartHub instead of the security system. Make sure you have the latest app since older versions won't offer the ability to add a security system.

Beak62
Aspirant
Aspirant

Thanks. I downloaded the software just yesterday. But I will keep an eye out. Still no connection to smart hub. The instruction do seem to belong to another program. Thanks

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@Beak62 wrote:

Still no connection to smart hub. 

Did you purchase a smart hub (VMB4540 or VMB5000) in addition to the Home Security System?

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

The smarthubs look like this:

smarthub.png

Beak62
Aspirant
Aspirant

No. Its just a keypad with 5 all in one sensors. It has no ethernet capability or port.20230701_133804.jpg

Beak62
Aspirant
Aspirant

The first thing the arlo app wants is ethernet. The support page says the hubs wont work with the all in one sensors. It is supposed to be standalone. Thanks for your help.

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@Beak62 wrote:

No. Its just a keypad with 5 all in one sensors. It has no ethernet capability or port.

Then when you "add device" are you seeing the security system as an option?  That is what you need to select.

security.jpeg

Note you have to do this from the app - NOT the browser.

Beak62
Aspirant
Aspirant