Discussion stats
  • 3 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
mwainwright
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hi there, 

I`m looking for a 4g/lte camera that I can monitor from overseas, and I am wondering about the specifics of how the data is used, so that I can work out what my costs would be. 

I spend most of my time in New Zealand and would like to monitor a remote site in the UK from here, but I have a few questions about how I would do that. 

-Is it possible to set up the camera (have a friend set up the camera for me) and haave full access to it from here, without pairing the device in person? 

-does the app recieve data via 4g? if so would I get charged additionally for recieving the data from overseas?

-if I have a cloud subscription, will all of the 4g data be local (ie.  all within the UK) and then my access from overseas be internet based?

-are alerts for camera activations sent by SMS?   or MMS?  and are there options to choose that?

-can the camera be set up so that all the data, video, and alerts, reach my overseas by inernet via the subscription service?

many thanks,

Mark

3 REPLIES 3
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

1) having your friend set it up on your account, whether he creates it and then tells you the login info or you create the account and he uses that info, will work fine. The only requirement for a person to be present is during that pairing pairing.

2) The app uses whatever Internet connection you have. The camera uses cell service at its location but that's it - it doesn't transmit to you directly - it goes through the servers.

3) Yes.

4) Notifications are push from the servers to your phone to the app, not SMS/MMS. 

5) Yes.

mwainwright
Aspirant
Aspirant

Brilliant, thank you.