Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Multile Alarms vs Singular alarm that comes w/ base station

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 2 In Conversation
Shek5150
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hello & thanks to anyone willing to respond to my quesiton.  First, I'm new to Arlo (& all this generally speaking). However, I've messed around enoubht w/ my Arlo Pro (4 camera system) & 2 WeMo Switches enough to have my lamps come on if Arlo detects motion (via IFTTT) . . . my question is related to this, I think the Arlo alarm/siren is very lame (meaning all an intruder has to do is push the button on top of the base unit to turn off the alarm).  So, I'd like to have several remote units that simply plug into the outlets around the house (thus hopefully making it a bit mor difficult/less desireable for would-be 'evil-doers').  But seriously, I've attached an example of 'plug in alarm strobe & siren' that I'm thinking of . . . hopefully, I was successful at posting it below. . .  in any case, I think it would be nice to have these spread throughout the house . . .  is this something that's possible to do?

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help me.

Regards,

Steve

Alarm.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Shek5150
Aspirant
Aspirant

As a solution to this, I ended up buying 3 Aeotec Sirens (Gen 5) & placed them throughout my house.  So, when the alarm is tripped . . . these 3 alarms, each w/ 105 db (& the Arlo Pro's base station alarm) emit such an ear piercing  alarm that it's actually sickening to your stomach . . .