Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

How to turn on a light in a room after motion detect

Discussion stats
  • 6 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 5 In Conversation
francescoo
Tutor
Tutor

I'm new to Arlo and I don't know if / how is possible to do use the system to turn on a light in a room after motion is detected.

I already set up the system with 2 cameras; the 1st camera is looking on the driveway and the 2nd camera is facing the garden.

When someone walk in the garden or driveway the camera start recording and send me a push message.

I'm going to be in vacation for 2 weeks and I'd like to automatically turn on a floor lamp inside my house when a motion is detected from one of the 2 outside cameras and then turn off the lamp after 60 seconds.  (To show that someone is in the house)

I don't know if is possible or how ...

I found this product

http://www.belkin.com/us/F7C027-Belkin/p/P-F7C027/ 

but I need to use the app to turn on and off and can't be done automatically.

Any suggestion or other products ?

Thank you

Francescoo

6 REPLIES 6
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

Right now there's no easy way to use the cameras to trigger another device that's not part of the Arlo family. Your only choice would be a separate motion detection light that has similar detection capabilities. I've had such motion activated lights for years and they're reasonably similar. A cat will walk by and usually turn on the lights at about the same time as the camera.

Netgear has mentioned future IFTTT capabilities but that doesn't exist now.

StuBee
Luminary
Luminary

Hi jguerdat,

Can you provide context for "Netgear has mentioned future IFTTT capabilities"

All I see is that in the 'suggestion' forum they labeled this popular request as "future consideration".  Which means....one day....maybe....they will think about it...but not now.  Otherwise it would be labeled as "current consideration".