Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 7 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
jpad
Follower
Follower

I have one arlo camera setup outside (under cover).  Rules and modes have it set to record all motion with 80% sensitivity.  It used to record great and send notifications per my rules.  It suddenly has started to act up and does not record.  Running man is green, wifi is in range and battery is full.  what am I missing?

4 REPLIES 4
Inspector_Tim
Initiate
Initiate

Hello! I'm new to this as well, and only having the system a few days now, I'm not that impressed with several factors about these cameras, including your mention of device behaving badly. In a matter of 2 days, the exterior camera on my side yard became somewhat non-responsive until I pulled it down and pulled batteries out to reset (then worked OK). 

Also, the lag between records (I should say IF THE **bleep** THINGS RECORD) and any activity that may have or has already happened.

It would seem that late in the afternoon when the outside air is around 95 degrees, the camera's do not pick up motion... period! My son and I just tried to trip 3 of them, and the cameras all have full signal and battery,  but it's hot at the front entry, the garage is hot inside and the sideyard as well... neither one of them would trip until we were just a few feet from the camera, waving our hands 😄

As mentioned, one of the exterior cameras needed to have it's batteries pulled for a minute or two after being powered on for... for just between the first and second day... that's not very reliable. What's with these things?

I'm totally thrilled with the system, the cloud, the app.. it's all TOP NOTCH, however, the reason we have these devices is to record things if and when needed... not if and when the conditions are just right.

I'll probably return to the store and by wired cameras... ugh.