ARLO Paid Subscriber Experience

Discussion stats
  • 13 Replies
  • 10 Likes
  • 5 In Conversation
Balony
Guide
Guide

It has taken two days of discussions with ARLO support, during which my paid subscription's security systems have remained compromised, to establish that the updated app cannot replicate my pre-existing schedules.

I got an advice to update the ARLO app two days ago. I have a paid subscription, which has been in place for years.

I have two base stations at two separate sites, with seven cameras in total.

Without warning, the app update immediately caused all seven cameras to go into 'Arm Away' mode. The only way to disarm one camera is to disarm all cameras, subsequently compromising my security systems at both sites.

The previous app version allowed me to independently schedule when each base station's cameras would be armed and disarmed.

Final outcome from support centre;

- No option to return to previous app version

- No offer to resolve the issue for a subscribed/paying customer

- Not even a 'bait and switch' scam option to buy additional service to return pre-existing functionality.

Ultimate outcome for subscriber:

- Unbelievably poor app development strategy renders ARLO unusable for existing customers.

- Thousands of dollars of hardware rendered useless

- Seek alternative security options

- Cancel subscription and move on

13 REPLIES 13
DannyBearAgain
Master
Master

I recall recently that a customer was able to negotiate with arlo support to restore the older UI app on there account.

I tried looking for the thread but it seems to have been since removed.

If the above option to restore the older app UI is possible by arlo support then it would mean that arlo is purposefully forcing customers into using an unwanted UI app that features failures rather than newer features. 

Edinburgh_lad1
Prodigy
Prodigy

If the above option to restore the older app UI is possible by arlo support then it would mean that arlo is