Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Questions on New Arlo Camera Purchase

Discussion stats
  • 1 Reply
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
syrutuwro
Follower
Follower

Hi, I have 5 camera Arlo Pro setup with a VMB4000r3 base which I have been using for 6 years now.

I am looking at upgrading (using the 50% off EoL promotion from Arlo), I have a few questions:

- I am interested in Ultra 2. I have seen some reviews on this camera that are about 2 years old. Is this an old model? Is there going to be an upgrade soon? Does it make sense to pull the trigger on it now?

- Is the only way to get a 5 camera setup to order the bundle with 4 cameras and add an 'add on camera' ?

- Do I have to sign up for the monthly subscription? I need to be able to set up schedules, the cameras to notify me when there's motion and be able to pull up recordings on my phone (ideally up to 7 days). Can I do this using local storage on the base station?

- If the answer to previous question is YES, what does monthly subscription get me?

Appreciate the help.

1 REPLY 1
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

Check the date on the EoL promotion.  My understanding is that the discounts ended in July.

@syrutuwro wrote:

- I am interested in Ultra 2. I have seen some reviews on this camera that are about 2 years old. Is this an old model? Is there going to be an upgrade soon? Does it make sense to pull the trigger on it now?

Arlo doesn't pre-announce, so no idea on when/if they will roll out a new 4K camera.

@syrutuwro wrote:

- Do I have to sign up for the monthly subscription? I need to be able to set up schedules, the cameras to notify me when there's motion and be able to pull up recordings on my phone (ideally up to 7 days). Can I do this using local storage on the base station?

Pulling up local recordings on your phone requires a VMB4540 or a VMB5000 smarthub.  It also has a lot of limitations: