Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Outdoor Cable Housing Wire Gap, this can't be weatherproof?

Discussion stats
  • 2 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
dreday
Initiate
Initiate

Hi I'm an Arlo Pro 2 user who originally was put off by the Ultra when it first debuted, but I think it's improved and Arlo is adding the things I want so I took the plunge today and purchased the 4-camera Arlo Ultra kit.  I also purchased qty 2x of the Arlo outdoor charging cables (25ft).  When I opened the outdoor cables the first thing that caught my eye was that where the cable inserts into the charging housing there were massive gaps.  For an indoor cable I would assume this could be OK, but not for an outdoor cable.  The standard indoor cable that came with the kit doesn't have the problem.  I took pictures to compare of the two as you can see down below.  A bit harder to see in pictures but very obvious with the naked eye.  BOTH of my outdoor cables looked like this.  Is this can't be good for an outdoor cable?  I obviously do not want to fry my new expensive Arlo Ultra purchase, but more worried about screwing up my electrical.  Given the issues with the old Arlo Pro 2 outdoor cables that were recalled at one point have to say I'm frustrated and wondering if I should just return everything to Best Buy.

Arlo Ultra Outdoor Charging Cable.png

2 REPLIES 2
TomMac
Guru Guru
Guru

The end your showing is the output and not high voltage ( ac ) but a 5V (?) out...if that shorts it should not effect your home electrical.

If it were me , i might be concerned, but then I might also just use white tub caulking to fill same.

Do what feels right to you... but good to post for others

--------------------------------------
Morse is faster than texting!
--------------------------------------
JamesC
Community Manager
Community Manager

dreday,