Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 7 Replies
  • 2 Likes
  • 5 In Conversation
ItsPlayTime
Apprentice
Apprentice
Quick review of the Arlo Ultra Solar Panel accessory.
I was provided one of these devices for free by Arlo for testing & reviewing purposes.

Short version: It works great!!
I ordered 2 more from Amazon yesterday.

Slightly more detailed version:
Initially, there were issues with the device's functionality. I'm no electrical engineer but if I had to guess I would guess that the camera had difficulties dealing with the sun rising & setting and the fluctuation of power which naturally occurred during that process. I would have to disconnect, battery pull & reinsert, reconnect the charger way too much. Clouds passing by could also trigger the error. The good news is that Arlo has engineers & they found and solved that bug many weeks ago.

Since that was solved, I have had no problems which I can attribute to the solar panel itself and in fact I've only touched that camera once. It has been a set it & forget it device. I did use some electrical insulating compound (grease) in the connection.

As it is a solar panel, your location can and will effect how much power & therefore how useful this device is for you. I am located in southern Florida & one thing we've got plenty of is sunlight.

The camera that it is connected to oversees an extremely high traffic intersection located behind my property. I'm talking around 700-900+ triggered 4k recordings just during daylight hours. At the end of daylight, the cameras battery would usually be around 70-90 percent. In contrast, after sunset the battery would become depleted in 2 hours or less if I didn't turn off the camera. The point is that the charger works exceptionally well in direct sunlight.