Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 15 Replies
  • 4 Likes
  • 10 In Conversation
mike_guy
Guide
Guide

I've just bought an Arlo Ultra two camera kit for home security, and like many others have a raft of issues which have left me feeling frustrated and wishing I had spent my money elsewhere.

I've tried support and whilst I hold no grudges against them (I get they have to ask certain questions - I work in IT too!) I've gotten nowhere. So I'm posting on here in hope an Arlo product manager or engineering team member can get back to me and at least give me some confidence to hold on and fixes are on the way.

My gripes are:

Speaker is awful - If I try and use the microphone to talk to the person (Samsung Galaxy S10) they can't hear a thing. It is so quiet. The camera is right next to the door so it isn't too far away.

Intermittent notifications/recording - at least a couple of times a day I will get someone trigger the motion detection but not generate a notification or cloud recording. Local recording to the SD card however still takes place no problem as does viewing the live stream. I have no interference, the kit is close by (no more than about 5 metres between base and camera). Just seems a software problem.

Slowness/lag - by the time I get a push notification and the live stream opens the person is long gone. It is just way to sluggish in comparison to other solutions I've seen.

Pleeeeeease give me some hope. I want to love the cameras, but at the moment can't. I feel like I've wasted 700 quid.

15 REPLIES 15
mike_guy
Guide
Guide