Arlo Secure Not Optimized For Landscape Orientation on Tablet Devices

Discussion stats
  • 7 Replies
  • 12 Likes
  • 4 In Conversation
bloodyrose
Guide
Guide

PROBLEM STATEMENT: Most businesses that use security applications on tables devices use them in landscape orientation to be able to more effectively view the camera grid. The Arlo Secure app will display the camera grid in landscape mode, however, features like the device history list, and control elements like the back button, settings gear, and filter are not displayed until you rotate the device to portrait orientation.

USE CASE: As a business owner I need the ability to use Arlo Secure on an iPad that is in an iPad stand in landscape orientation WITHOUT having to rotate the device to portrait orientation.

EXAMPLE 1: While in landscape orientation, when viewing videos in the Feed you cannot navigate back to the Feed page unless you turn the iPad to portrait mode.

EXAMPLE 1 STEPS:

1) Open Arlo Secure on an iPad while in landscape orientation.

2) Tap on Feed to view the list of event videos

3) Tap on any video in the list

4) Notice that there are no navigation controls at the top of the screen.

5) Rotate the device to portrait mode

6) Notice that the back arrow is displayed at the top left and the menu ellipsis button is displayed at the top right.

EXAMPLE 2: While in landscape orientation, when viewing a camera on the Devices tab you cannot access the device settings, filter or navigate back to the Devices page unless you turn the iPad to portrait mode.

EXAMPLE 2 STEPS:

1) Open Arlo Secure on an iPad while in landscape orientation.

2) Tap on Devices to view the device tiles

3) Tap on any device on the device page

4) Notice that there are no navigation controls at the top of the screen. You can only play the latest video

5) Rotate the device to portrait mode