Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Urgent: Activate Two-Step Verification
Arlo requires all users to activate two-step verification to continue to access your recordings, devices, and account.
Please enable this feature now. Learn More.

Privacy on returned camera

Reply
Discussion stats
  • 1 Reply
  • 1586 Views
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
watcherdog
Aspirant
Aspirant

In regards to this article on Reddit describing the privacy issue - returned cameras sharing footage to prior users.

https://www.reddit.com/r/privacy/comments/4ortwb/i_bought_and_returned_a_set_of_wifi_connected/

 

I can confirm this is still at least partially an issue (as of February 2018).  I had two Arlo Qs that I returned to a big box retailer (wouldn't update firmware and kept disconnecting /going offline) in December 2017.  In February 2018, I was reviewing library footage and saw recordings for these two cameras in my Arlo App.  It looked like new users in their home trying to set up these two cameras.  The recordings were only for one evening, so not sure if they turned off / returned the camera or part of the set-up set up a privacy barrier and assigned them to a new account.

Model: VMC3040 | Arlo-Q HD with Audio
TomMac
Guru Guru
Guru

Obv the cams were not deleted form your account ( remove device ) and the box store just re-sent them out.

 

If your account has them in it , you can still delete them using remove device ( in settings )

--------------------------------------
Morse is faster than texting!
--------------------------------------