Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Wireless configuration deployment options for Arlo

Discussion stats
  • 2 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
TheWraith
Guide
Guide

First, let me state that I'm a network engineer and as such have a considerable wireless infrastructure at my residence.  By 'considerable', I mean it consists of (5) different Cisco Aironet 1050 Series access points, some with external antenas based on deployment needs.  These access points are maintained by a Cisco Wireless Controller.  That being said, I see that the Arlo base station acts as it's own wireless access point, broadcasting an SSID of "Netgear11" (wpa2-psk-ccmp)(wps)(ess).  The 'issue' (gripe) I have is that there are NO wireless configuration options within the Arlo base station interface.  What if I want to modify the Arlo wireless access point and change what channel it's operating on?  What if I want to customize the SSID?  What if, since the "wireless clients" (i.e. cameras) aren't roaming workstations I want to disable the SSID broadcast bit?  What if I want to customize the WPA2 passphrase?

My home wireless network is far, far more diversive and far reaching across my property than a single Arlo wireless access point.  Why can't Netgear/Arlo have a network configuration option allowing users to determine if it's going to be acting as a wireless access point, or a wireless client?  I'd much, much rather configure my Arlo to associate/connect to MY wireless infrastructure and have the cameras also connect as clients, versus them maintaining a self-sustained, limited coverage, wireless network of their own.