Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

PIR motion detection through glass/windows

Discussion stats
  • 12 Replies
  • 2 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
JaiiHan
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hi, everyone

this is my first time here.

I recently got '2 arlo pro cameras with base' model. I was really excited and happy when I tested the cameras as soon as I got back home. 

And it didn't take long to be so disappointed with PIR motion detection not working through glasses and windows. I bought Arlo for my parked cars. They are parked across each other at indoor shared parking lot with security door. Recently both car got hit 3 times in total in 2 months while they were parked. And someone kept folding one of my cars mirrors. I kinda know who hit both cars and who's touching the mirrors but no proof. I've looked for dashcams but none lasts for a few days even with external battery pack. I put two cameras on the dashboards and pointing each others. And motion detection wasn't working...

So far i've had one question. Is there any way to make them work behind the windsheild? I've read quite a few posts and seems no. Then another idea came up. Video recording or snap shot every certain interval like time lapse. Of course some people thought about it too and there is no such controls for arlo series.

Now I am wondering what if any thief breaks into your house with a glass panel or some kind of glassy material cover or chothes, if those exsist, and covering himself.. I have a quite big fish tank with some fish in it. arlo didn't detect any movement though the glass wall.

I think I have to get Arlo Q instead but how to manage the power? What if I buy a 2000A/1000W power station and plug it on? Then how long will it last until recharging the battery pack. with 20 recordings/day because I am guessing less than 20 groups of people/day passing by.

I am so stuck here.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION