Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 3 Replies
  • 5 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
matttisdale
Star
Star

I do not have any questions, just some comments.

I am an IT professional with more than 25 years of experience. I have participated in hundreads of support calls over the years. I just experienced one of the worst support calls ever with Arlo support. It was not very helpful and the support person provided no reasonable advise or solutions. Prior to the phone call I attempted to get support from Arlo via their online live chat. During that chat the support person asked me to give them my account username and PASSWORD. If this is a normal practice of Arlo (Netgear) support, they should be ashamed of themselves. This is a horrible security practice. Rule number one for any password is to never share it with anyone. Today’s experience will significantly impact my decisions on future purchase of any Netgear product. If there are any reasonable Arlo/Netgear leadership staff who would like to contact me I will be happy to discuss this further.

3 REPLIES 3
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

Just to be clear, are you sure you were speaking with a Netgear employee? There have been too  many folks that have reported here they Googled for support and got some bogus 800 number which then wanted money and perhaps the account credentials. A true Netgear support person should ask you to change your password to a Netgear-supplied password so your's is never in the open. I've had to do that myself.

It's still possible that a Netgear support person wouldn't follow procedure in which case I would bitch loudly, as you're trying to do here.

matttisdale
Star
Star