Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras

Discussion stats
  • 11 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
AppleGuy
Guide
Guide

I have 11 Arlo cameras of various vintages at two homes.  I recently added a used Pro2, but the battery is weak and I can't get a new one (aftermarket have poor reviews).  I bought a new Pro 5S instead, but discovered I can't add it unless I upgrade to the new UI so I'm holding off because there are clearly important ramifications to understand.  I use three modes on my existing system: All armed, All disarmed, and Outside Only (custom mode).  Can I get the same functionality if I upgrade to the new UI?  I have a subscription, and my oldest base station is a VMB4000.  I use activity zones on some of the cameras.  I get 30 days of recordings in my Library, will I get the same in my Feed?  Are there any other differences I should know about before going down this one-way path?

Also, what is the cutoff on older cameras that are supported by the old UI?  I'm trying to determine if any still have OEM battery support.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AppleGuy
Guide
Guide

To finish off this thread, I got a used Pro3 camera (which is quite similar to the Pro5S except it doesn't support hub-less operation), and it connects just fine to my system running the old UI.  And you can still buy authentic Arlo batteries.  

Bottom line, the Pro3 appears to be the latest Arlo camera that will work with the old UI.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@AppleGuy wrote:

I use three modes on my existing system: All armed, All disarmed, and Outside Only (custom mode).  Can I get the same functionality if I upgrade to the new UI?  

Yes.  For example

1. use Armed Away to arm all cameras (which I think is the default)
  2. use Standby to disarm all cameras (which is the default)
  3. use Armed Home to only arm outdoor cameras (which I think will require you to modify the rules)

See