Pro 4/Ultra 2/VMB5000 video source

Discussion stats
  • 13 Replies
  • 2 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
skippy2
Apprentice
Apprentice

I have three Pro 4 cameras and  2 Ultra 2 cameras all connected to a VMB5000 base station.

I have a memory card installed in the base station, and I have activated local recordings.  I can tell that some local recordings are being made because the available space on the memory card slowly decreases.  I have an active Arlo subscription and videos are also visible at my.arlo.com.

There are two ways to view videos in the current iOS Arlo app.  One is to select the Feed tab at the bottom which shows all cameras video history at once, the other is to select the Devices tab wherein you can select the individual camera's video history.

The issue is that there is absolutely no indication when viewing a video, regardless of whether viewed through Feed or Devices, whether that video is coming from local storage or from the cloud.  I have gone round and round with Arlo support about this.  They seem incapable of understanding the question, and have provided many conflicting and non-responsive answers.  I am thoroughly fed up with Arlo support.

Do any of you know how to ascertain the source of a video?

13 REPLIES 13
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@skippy2 wrote:

The issue is that there is absolutely no indication when viewing a video, regardless of whether viewed through Feed or Devices, whether that video is coming from local storage or from the cloud. 

If you see a thumbnail, then the video is in the cloud.

skippy2
Apprentice
Apprentice

Thank you for the response.

Are the thumbnails to which you are referring on the Feed page?

Then how do I view videos stored in local storage?

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@skippy2 wrote:

Are the thumbnails to which you are referring on the Feed page?

Yes, and also in the notifications.  

If you don't use activity zones, then all your motion recordings should be going to both the cloud and local storage.