Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Cameras going offline once a day

Discussion stats
  • 6 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
hullan
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hello everyone, first post here. 

So I work as an IT technician and kind of know my way around these sort of things 🙂

I bought an arlo system last summer (2019) consisting of a VMB4500r2 and two "Arlo pro 2" cameras and two "Arlo Pro (VMC4030) cameras"

I'm not exactly sure if my problems started with the 1.16.2.5... firmware in the fall of 2019 or if they always were there....

but basically I've been having problems with the cameras going offline at least once a day. Note that my base station is always online - it is only the cameras that are loosing connection with the base station.

So if I restart the base station from my app everything is up and running hopefully for the remainder of that day...

What I have done:

I have been sloppy by having my base station placed near my wifi router on the same shelf - BUT I have completely disabled 2,4ghz on my main wifi so that it's only running 5ghz - therefore there shouldn't be any congestion. 

However - a few months ago I moved the base station to my second floor (I have ethernet and real RJ45 outlets running through the house) but that did not make it any better. 

3 of my cameras have full connection to the base and one of them have 2 of 3 "pins"

Still once a day when I open the app my cameras are offline but I can restart the base station from the app and have them running again...

really dissapointed tbh... 

6 REPLIES 6
Dannybear
Master
Master
Have you checked the wifi for congestion near the furthest camera? While your local router wifi is disabled the base station channel could be getting swamped by the wifi from next door at the camera location.