Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Adding 3rd Camera to Arlo 2 System VMS4230P

Discussion stats
  • 7 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
Harold13
Aspirant
Aspirant

Love my Arlo 2 System VMS4230P.  System came with 2 cameras which I have been using since May 2020.  Would like to add another camera to the System.  Do not see the Arlo 2 cameras for sale.  Will another camera work?

7 REPLIES 7
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@Harold13 wrote:

Do not see the Arlo 2 cameras for sale.  Will another camera work?

Yes, though a newer camera will need a subscription to get cloud storage.

Harold13
Aspirant
Aspirant

Not using Cloud Storage.  Have external hard drive connected.  Usually delete at end of month.  Would another Pro camera other than Pro 2 work?

StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@Harold13 wrote:

Not using Cloud Storage.  

If you have a VMB4000 base (which is what I see when I look at the VMS4230P on amazon), then you are using cloud storage.

The Pro 2 cameras include 7-day free cloud storage, and all the recordings you see from the app and browser with the VMB4000 base are stored in the cloud.

To see the local recordings, you need to remove the disk and connect it a PC.

Harold13
Aspirant
Aspirant

I choice NO Plan.  Therefore NO Cloud Storage.

Without a service plan, your Arlo device will continue to have the following features:

• Live Streaming
  • Push Notifications
  • Two-way Audio
  • Auto Zoom & Tracking*
  • Local Storage Recording*

*Auto Zoom & Tracking and Local Storage Recording are not available for all Arlo devices.

Note: Without an Arlo Secure plan or trial you will not have access to features such as Activity Zones, Cloud Recording, Smart Notifications, Alarm Detection, etc. For more information, visit: What are the available Arlo subscription plans and how much cloud recording is available?