Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Arlo sound feature

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
josebus
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hello, 

Looking to buy a Arlo Baby to connect to Apple HomeKit and monitor my kids while they sleep. I'm new to Apple HomeKit and the Arlo line, so I wanted to ask before purchasing, how do the sound notifications work? If the camera notices a sound (like a cry), is there any way for it to open up a live feed without any interaction on my part, or will I just get a simple notification for me to act on?

Just want to make sure the camera fits our needs, if they start to cry I want to be able to hear them ASAP.

Thanks,

Jose

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JamesC
Community Manager
Community Manager

josebus,

The feed will not open and live stream automatically upon motion detection. However, you can start a live stream and let it remain streaming throughout the night. This would allow the stream to always been open for when any activity occurs.

JamesC

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
JamesC
Community Manager
Community Manager

josebus,

The Arlo Baby can be configured to send a push notification upon detecting sound and/or motion. For more information on this, take a look here: How do I enable or disable email and push notifications for Arlo Baby?

JamesC

josebus
Aspirant
Aspirant

Thanks for the fast reply James. I was aware that it would send me a notification, I asked if it could open the live feed automatically. At 2am it doesn't help me to get a notification as there is a really high probability of me not hearing it. 

I do appreciate your help though, I know that it may be a limitation of iOS as well. I will ask on the HomeKit support forums to see if the Home app has this ability.

Thanks!

JamesC
Community Manager
Community Manager

josebus,