Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Device is charging. Some settings may be unavailable.

Discussion stats
  • 11 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
shieldskk96
Aspirant
Aspirant

I have a Pro3 Floodlight that I’ve been using for the last 3 months without any problems.  It just stopped recording motion for some reason, and and I receive the message “the camera and light are disabled while charging, and will not respond to mode changes” in the device settings under the base station. I don’t have a subscription and only have recordings available for 7 days. I have three cameras connected the the base station, two Arlo Pro 2 wire-free cameras along with the floodlight. All three are outdoors and connected to the magnetic outdoor charging cables and all are at 100% and within Wi-Fi range, however the floodlight just stopped recording and went offline, but the other two cameras are functioning and recording properly. I removed the floodlight battery and factory reset it, however it still isn’t recording even though I continue to get motion detection messages from the activity zone that is established. 

11 REPLIES 11
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

The floodlight can be charged via the outdoor charger with no issues but not the indoor one which disables the camera while charging.

The free 7 day plan is only for cameras up to the Pro 2. Any newer camera, starting in 2018, requires a subscription for cloud recordings and zones if not AC powered. The floodlight came with a trial sub which is why you got 3 months' worth of cloud recording but apparently that has expired. You either need to purchase a single camera sub or set up local recordings if your base supports it (VMB4000 and 4500). However, you would need to eject the drive to view videos on a computer. The VMB4540 and 5000 can view the videos directly via the app but it's not the same as the cloud recordings.