Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
TomMac
Guru Guru
Guru

Anyone else notice an increase in the videos smearing at times?  Not browser ( as tested 2 ) and d/ls show the same.

My lag is still fairly short in the range of 1-2 seconds ( or about 3-4 ft ) but smearing has increased.

I don't really care about slight lag problem as an open floor plan allows multiple cams to trigger each other and second cams always get face shots but this smearing just ruins the video.

Data speeds 28Mbs+ down, 6Mbs up, with pings around 10-12ms

--------------------------------------
Morse is faster than texting!
--------------------------------------
134 REPLIES 134
KLG
Tutor
Tutor

I saved a post from yesterday with the "perfect smear".  I called the phenomena "ghosting" for lack of a better descriptor and was directed to this thread.  However I'm new to Arlo (5 days) and don't know how to send the file from my library to you.  I also contacted the "chat" help line today and the following recommendations were made:  1.  Change quality of video to "best" (already was my setting).  2.  Change lenght or record time to 20 seconds, up from my 10.  3.  In modem setting, change the "flicker" setting from 60 hz to 50 hz (don't know if that is exactly correct).  Results:  Made the smearing dynamic much worse!  Changed settings back! At first I thought I just had a problem with 1 camera, but now it's smearing on both cameras.

Please let me know how to get my saved file from my library to you...and the community....thanks....

Showguy
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Ok Netgear it's time to step up instead of posting these canned responses that make no sense. Here are the facts. :

1- This problem is effecting many if not all users.