Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Setup day and night mode with several cameras and different alerts

Discussion stats
  • 4 Replies
  • 1 Like
  • 3 In Conversation
DKAnders
Initiate
Initiate

Dear community.

Sorry to have to ask, but I simply cannot get the setup to work.

I am an IT technician, but I just do not get the Arlo “world”, have now wasted hours, so hope someone can help me understand how to setup my Arlo.

I have a small setup, 3 cameras.

1 outside

2 inside

I would like to make a schedule, rather simple:

Outside to be active 24/7 – all the time, with no notifications.

Geofence rule based setup for the 2 inside, with to modes:

If armed (I am not at home) 2 inside cameras are active with notifications.

If not armed (but geofence tells I am at home) 2 inside cameras only to be active between 12:01AM and 05:30AM, but not with notifications.

I simply cannot get this to work, have tried +20 different setups, but I keep getting in trouble with the fact that the Schedule can only have one schedule active at one time.

Hope someone can help me with a detailed description.

Many thanks in advance.

/Anders

4 REPLIES 4
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

You're having trouble because you're going at it backwards. Rather than separate schedules, you create as many modes as needed for specific time periods. Each mode will have rules for only the cameras needed for a certain need - you might have all cameras in one mode or 1 or 2 rules in other modes. Each mode is for a specific need. Then schedule the modes in their desired time periods. Be aware that you can't span days so schedule an overnight mode for, say 10PM to 11:59PM and again from 12:00AM to 6AM.

You would then also use geofencing to determine what to use when at home (maybe use schedule for Home) and what to use when gone (maybe Armed for Away).

DKAnders
Initiate
Initiate

Hi jguerdat.