Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

paintguy
Star
Star
Is anyone else having a problem with the delay in long it takes motion to detect and the start of recording? I have found that outside the delay is too much to see anyone who is approaching my house. I have looked at videos and the recording shows the very end of someone in my family opening my door if at all. I have played around with the sensitivity also to get it to record earlier. This and the battery issue are the biggest problems so far. Does anyone have ideas how they got theirs to not have so much of a delay?

Thanks
218 REPLIES 218
WernerS
Star
Star

I am a professional engineer of 20+ years and I do deal a lot with algorithm and software design. I do think I am somewhat capable of following basic installation instruction. I did move the cameras around several times and tried pretty much all suggestions. I am absolutely confident I have a very good installation. The fact is, not a single suggestions provided any significant improvement and I'm obviously not alone.

I am reluctant to purchase another set of cameras to utilize a trigger-function to compensate for a design flaw and to pay for a higher subscription fee for an inferior system.

It is completely out of my comprehension how a system with this type of substantial design flaw can get approved for mass production. The single purpose of the cameras is to record video. It fails to record the most important part of the video.

- If somebody steals a delivered package from my front porch --> The camera completley misses the entire action

- If someone sneaks through my back door --> The camera completley misses the entire action

- If somebody walks into my open garage --> The camera completley misses the entire action

etc.

This system is pretty much useless for me for the purpose I have purchased it.