Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 3 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
jghere
Apprentice
Apprentice

I'm giving up.. for a year I've tried to use this system with 4 cameras and It is exasperating.  Constantly losing connection.  Endlessly restarting each camera and trying to connect. Stays connected for a few minutes or a couple days and then no connection. Charge the batteries, and try to reconnect, only to fail repeatedly.  I mess with this crap for an hour and still have no security system. I'm not dumb, I'm an expert computer and system user.  Just can't stand this garbage anymore.

3 REPLIES 3
ShayneS
Arlo Moderator
Arlo Moderator

Hi @jghere

May I ask which troubleshooting steps you have performed so far? I don't want to suggest any prior methods you have previously performed.

jghere
Apprentice
Apprentice

I went through all the solutions I've learned to do over the past two years.  New batteries, reboot everything, remove and re-install the device, reconnect to base station. etc.  I finally gave the whole pile of crap to a friend who just wants to add some new cameras to his existing system.  I bought 3 new Arlo 4 Pro cameras, and they do not want to work either.  While charging, the blue light near flashes, so I cannot scan the QR code.  Does anyone anywhere get this stuff to function??

jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

Your basic issue seems to be an environmental one - signal strength/quality caused by distance, house construction, objects in/on the walls, wireless interference, etc. The fact that your friend uses them indicates that yes, this stuff does function.

As for the Pro 4 cameras, have you reset them?

https://kb.arlo.com/000062438/How-do-I-factory-reset-my-Arlo-wire-free-camera