Arlo or Arlo Pro?

Discussion stats
  • 2 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 3 In Conversation
svtdriver
Guide
Guide

I'm new to Arlo and currently looking for guidance on how to proceed. I picked up the Arlo 2 camera pack at Costco recently for $240 (They'll be on sale for $199 later this month!). I bought it on a whim when I needed to monitor a pet at home and Costco has a great return policy if I didn't need to keep it.

Since then, I put the secondary camera up outside to monitor the front door. It seems to do a good job at it and I've dialed in the motion sensitivity. I get a alert when a box shows up, etc.

About a week after my purchase, the Arlo Pro was annouced. The only place that has this currently is Best Buy at $420 for the 2 pack. I'm struggling to come to a decision on whether to return the standard Arlo and get the Pro. Looking at the price difference ($180 or $220 if I do a return/rebuy at Costco), is the pro worth it? I read the motion detection is quicker which would be nice and rechargable batteries is a welcomed feature (I haven't had to buy batteries yet but from reading the forums, they're not cheap). I did see a thread that stated Netgear is working on official rechargable batteries for the standard Arlo due late this year or early next. I don't really need a siren. Audio and USB would be nice I guess.

Basically, I could get a 4 camera Arlo set up via Costco for $400 or a 2 camera Pro at BB for $420. Is the Pro really worth the cost?

2 REPLIES 2
TomMac
Guru Guru
Guru

That's a bit difficult to answer...

As both in my opinion have some pluses ...

BTW, the OEM batteries purchased on line( from rep dealer ) are about $1.40-1.50 per...so not as expensive as you may think ( they do cost sometimes $4 each in stores )

But since you asked..... IMO, If I was just starting out, I'd prob go with the PRO. 

The PRO solved a few problems that the Arlo had as to slow trigger/record effect and that made them ( arlo)  harder to properly set up.