Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 6 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
SHDendy
Aspirant
Aspirant

Hi Everyone

I'm sure this has been discussed before in some other iteration, but I am at my wits end and need to get my doorbell back ASAP.

My Electrician installed the Arlo Wired Video Doorbell per the websites' instructions, but no lights came on. He tested my old doorbell with chime that is original to the house first to make sure they were working then upgraded the transformer to 16-24v/10VA as per the specs. At first he used 16v and then changed to 24v but still no lights/power ... nothing happened. 

Anyway, I have no electrical knowledge, but started reading the discussion comments for a solution and others have installed 16-24v/30VA and 16-24v/40VA transformers with success so I am wondering if we should try a transformer with a higher VA. But if that works will the higher VA burn out the doorbell and chime? 

Also should I upgrade my chime to 24v so that it works with the new transformer? The house was built in the 1940's so this is the first time the transformer and chime have been replaced to my knowledge. Is there a chime that you recommend? 

Any assistance with this matter is greatly appreciated. 

Happy New Year

Sharon

6 REPLIES 6
StephenB
Guru Guru
Guru

@SHDendy wrote:

so I am wondering if we should try a transformer with a higher VA. But if that works will the higher VA burn out the doorbell and chime? 

The VA rating is the most power the transformer can deliver - so using a higher VA shouldn't burn out the doorbell.

But you should be seeing some sign of power.  So maybe start with a factory reset: https://kb.arlo.com/000062346/How-do-I-reset-my-Arlo-Essential-Video-Doorbell