Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Installing Video doorbell in Australia is too complicated, but it could be and should be simple.

Discussion stats
  • 1 Reply
  • 2 Likes
  • 2 In Conversation
WLB
Follower
Follower

Installing Arlo products is usually very easy, but installing an Arlo Video Doorbell in Australia is a nightmare.

I have multiple hubs and 12 cameras. That was all remarkably simple to set up. The instructions for the video doorbell make it look easy to install too, but it isn’t.

An electrician, an electrical store, and a security systems installer couldn’t work out how to do it.

This may be simple to some people, but I am not an electrician and it was not simple for me. I suspect it won’t be simple for many others, and yet there are simple solutions that Arlo should make people aware of being purchasing this product.

Firstly, no power supply is provided. There is an expectation that people will have a wired doorbell. It would appear that most people use wireless doorbells these days, so a wired doorbell may need to be installed in newer houses, if one plans to provide power to the Arlo video doorbell, via an existing doorbell.

An Arlo video doorbell requires a 16-24V transformer.

Australian wired doorbells tend to require 8V.

Thus, using an Australian wired doorbell won’t provide enough power.

Arlo could have made the installation much easier by providing the correct power supply with their video doorbell.

This would have enabled the electrician to join the wires from the transformer directly to the wires that have been used for the existing wired doorbell. I presume that using a 16V transformer for an 8V device would have destroyed it, but I suspect there could be a way of bypassing the existing doorbell.