Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

my initial impressions (day 5 & counting) with 1 Arlo Ultra camera + doorbell & chime

Discussion stats
  • 0 Replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 1 In Conversation
n1976jmk
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Good afternoon all!  I am new to Arlo but have been reading closely about them for the last 1.5 years.  I am tech person so I somewhat savvy and enjoy new technology!  Hence the 4k models :).

Thanks for everyone who helped me out so far with my many questions (I still have more 🙂  ).

This is my fifth day using one Arlo Ultra camera, base station, doorbell, and door chime.  So, I wanted to the be the newbie providing my first overall observations and feelings so far.

Initial setup was straight forward.  I did initially have my base station in my basement and the camera is on the front of my house about 15-20 feet away.  I am using the outdoor 25-foot power cord for the camera.

I did not have any issues recording to the cloud or receiving push notifications during setup.  The camera, doorbell and door chime did not have issues connecting to the base station in the basement.  Sometimes the doorbell would not connect right away if I had to use the app to reboot the base station.  Or if I physically went to the door bell and rang it twice then it would reconnect by itself.  

Later, day one and day two, I noticed when I was at home at my iPhone was connected to our Verizon FIOS 5g.  And I opened the Arlo app it was usually lock up or not display live video and kept saying 'getting status' and the doorbell and door chime would not show as connected either.  If I force closed the app or restarted my iphone that would help most of the time.