Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 18 Replies
  • 3 Likes
  • 9 In Conversation
Buckrub71
Tutor
Tutor

After a long awaited purchase I was happy to have finally added Arlo to my “smart home”. Shortly after setup, I am beyond frustrated with my Arlo Ultra. The issues lie within the geofencing/modes, activity zones and notifications. Now that I look at it, with just about everything important for a home security camera system in today’s smart home market. I will expand on each in just a moment. Before moving forward, I am no expert but I have solid experience with Smartthings, IFTTT, Z-wave, Nest, etc. And yes, I have restarted my hub, excluded my cameras and rebooted everything. Why? Because in addition to the issues below, my system would not get beyond “getting status”. The reboot fixed the later but left me faced with the issued below. Geofencing worked for about a day. I was successful in setting it up to switch to “schedule” mode once outside of the “fence”. Then, nada. It would not switch and thereby left the system unarmed. My Smartthings Hub reads my presence so I know it’s not my phone (S9+). Essentially, it was useless. By the way, setting the schedule is a PITA! Those who have done it and tried to wrap around to the next day know what I mean. The start and stop times conflict with one another. PITA! Back to the modes. When I do remember to set the mode to “armed”, the activity zone renders one camera almost useless because it drains the battery. Here's the skinny. I spent quite a bit of time setting the action zone for my driveway and adjusting the sensitivity. I selected “person” and “vehicle” for my driveway. Despite significantly reducing the activity zone to only include about half of my driveway, I get an overwhelming number of false detections—kind of. Every vehicle traveling down the street and every person walking down the si